Dave Winfield Inducted into First Class of College Baseball Hall of Fame

Former University of Minnesota baseball standout David Winfield was one of 10 individuals to be inducted into the first class of the College Baseball Hall of Fame according to an announcement made today by the College Baseball Foundation in Lubbock, Texas. The announcement comes after the conclusion of an intensive voting process that began with nominations in February and two elimination ballots over the last month.

While at Minnesota, Winfield was a First-Team All-American in 1973 and was two-time All-Big Ten in 1971 & 73. In his senior season he was 9-1 with a 2.74 ERA and 109 strikeouts in 82.0 innings of work. He also batted .385 with 33 RBI in 130 at-bats that season.

Winfield was named the Most Outstanding Player in the 1973 College World Series. He went 1-0 in the College World Series as a pitcher, giving up just 10 hits, three earned runs and striking out 29 batters in 17.1 innings of work. Winfield had 14 strikeouts in a 1-0 victory over Oklahoma in the College World Series as he tallied a complete-game shutout. He had a no-decision as he struck out 15 batters in 8.1 innings in a stunning 8-7 loss to USC. Winfield had a 1.56 ERA in the two games he pitched against Oklahoma and USC in the College World Series. He also was 7-for-15 with two RBI at the plate in that College World Series.

In his career, Winfield was 19-4 with 15 complete games, 229 strikeouts in 169.0 innings and a 2.24 ERA. He was inducted into the Major League Hall of Fame in 2001.

Along with Winfield, the Class of 2006 includes legendary coaches Bobby Winkles of Arizona State, Skip Bertman of LSU, Ron Fraser of Miami (Fla.), Cliff Guftasson of Texas and Rod Dedeaux of USC. Winfield was one of a group of five players to be the first inductees into the Hall of Fame. The other players included were Bob Horner of Arizona State, Robin Ventura of Oklahoma State, Will Clark of Mississippi State and Brooks Kieschnick of Texas.

Minnesota was one of only eight schools to have a player or coach make the inaugural College Baseball Hall of Fame Class. Texas and Oklahoma State were the only two schools to have a player and a coach honored.

The Minnesota baseball program was well represented on the finalists ballot with former head coach Dick Siebert, along with Winfield and former Golden Gopher great Paul Molitor. Minnesota also had another former player on the ballot as Jerry Kindall was nominated for his career as Arizona’s head coach.

Minnesota, Texas and Oklahoma State were the only schools that had two or more players and a head coach make the finalist ballot.

These collegiate legends will officially be enshrined during a two-day celebration of college baseball in July, which feature the theme “Past Meets Present”. The College Baseball Foundation will kick off festivities on Monday, July 3rd with the third annual Brooks Wallace College Player of the Year Award dinner to be held at the United Spirit Arena, on the campus of Texas Tech University. The Inaugural Hall of Fame Class will be recognized during the ceremony.

Over 300 candidates were originally submitted for consideration by universities and CBF members. In conjunction with the Society for the Advancement of Baseball Research (SABR), the ABCA Veteran and CBF Historical Committees and the CBF Research Committee, which was charged with evaluating nominees worthy of official consideration.

Players are eligible for the College Baseball Hall of Fame ballot five years after the student- athlete’s final collegiate season, not to include any active player or coach on a professional baseball team roster. Former players must have completed one year of competition at a four-year institution, and must have made an All-American team (post-1947) or an All- League tam (pre-1947 or have earned verifiable national acclaim.

Coaches are eligible after ending their collegiate career, not to include an active coach on a professional baseball team. They must have achieved 300 career wins, or have won at least 65 percent of their games. Players and Coaches are also evaluated for their citizenship both during and after their active careers.